Day 3: Striking A Balance

I am only 3 days into this endeavor and already I find myself rethinking my dietary choices. Last night Baby L and I went to my parents’ house for dinner. By most standards it was a healthy meal of salmon, cheddar loaf, green salad and Waldorf salad. However, this time I couldn’t help but to check where the salmon came from, was it farm-raised? (I don’t know, and yes – if you were wondering).

It seems that the more I learn about whole living the more I hesitate to consume anything that isn’t whole. I know that we can’t make this change over night. There is to much to learn and to much processed food already in the house that I’m not prepared to just throw out. If we were to completely throw ourselves into this endeavor and give up everything we used to eat, we would probably give up on the whole thing within a week. But, as much I know that it will be better in the long run for us to make this transition gradually, it’s tough to ignore the things I used to be ignorant about.

For example, I purchased some brats when I visited the farm on Thursday and I’m sure that we will eat them the first night Mr. L gets home. However, I don’t know what I’m supposed to do about buns? Do I go to the store and buy a package like I always have? Should I try to bake my own buns from scratch. I don’t have a clue how to do that, and even if I did I only have normal white flour at home and I’m pretty sure that I should be using whole wheat flour if not something even less processed than that. Where on earth do I get non-GMO whole wheat? As you can see it’s easy to get overwhelmed!

I think the only thing I can do is try to make the healthiest choices possible at the grocery store and then slowly work my way on from there. Who knows – by this time next year maybe I really will be grinding my own wheat and making my own hotdog buns!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Day 3: Striking A Balance”

  1. Diane mize says :

    The lady who bought our house in culloden ground her own wheat. I’ve never known anyone else that did. Good luck with this endeavor!

Leave a Reply

